Outside Series

The Journey Begins

8 Episodes

Episode 1

The Journey Begins

Looking for the heaviest waves possible big wave surfers Shane Dorian and Albee layer explore the north coast of Scotland looking for dangerous slab waves along the ancient Scottish coastline.

Episode 2

Blood Eagle

On the rugged coast of Scotland big wave surfers Albee Layer and Shane Dorian have found a barreling wave that tests two of the worlds best, with each wave having the potential for disaster.

Episode 3

Baja Surf Safari

Exploring the unmarked coastline of Baja, 6-time world champion Stephanie Gilmore and free-surfing pioneer Dave Rastovich travel Highway 1, looking for the endless point breaks Mexico is known for.

Episode 4

Desert Hideaway

On the west coast of Baja surfing icons Stephanie Gilmore and Dave Rastovich have come to ride long barreling point breaks and at the peak of the swell they are poised to find what they have been looking for.

Episode 5

Land of 1,000 Points

Looking for waves in one of the most inhospitable places on earth, surfing luminary Rob Machado and his current day counterpart Craig Anderson have come to Chile to brave the currents and frigid waters of this desolate region of the world.

Episode 6

Down the Rabbit Hole

Struggling with a violent ocean and bad weather, surfing legends Rob Machado and Craig Anderson continue their search for big powerful waves and epic cold weather surfing on Chile’s southern coast.

Episode 7

Brain Freeze

Continuing to find great surf in Chile, the Proximity team surfing only in the sun and looking to capture bad weather, sets out to Japan, where the snow and ice filled waters challenge Rob Machado and Craig Anderson like to no wave could.

Episode 8

Unknown Atolls

In the warm waters of the Central Pacific a little known atoll has drawn surfing’s greatest competitor Kelly Slater and the heir apparent of competitive surfing John John Florence to ride perfect waves in warm, crystal blue water.